Skip to content ↓

Members of the Governing Body

Please click here to see our school details on the Department of Education’s Get Information About Schools:

To contact the Chair of Governors please visit the home page and select Contact Us and select Clerk to Governors on the drop down box.

Correct as at April 2024

Mr Adrian Harris, Chair Co-opted Governor

Two sons through the school.Worked as Assistant Director, Financial Management, at the University of East London.  Chair of the Governing Body and Staffing & Salaries  and a member of the Finance & Premises Committee, and Audit and Risk Committee.

Mr Justin van Wijngaarden, Vice Chair, Parent Governor

Became a Governor in June 2014 and his three children have attended the school with his youngest son now in the Sixth Form. A Chartered Accountant working as a Chief Operating Officer in the City at a financial services company and serves as non-executive chair of the board of AQA Education.

Miss Nancy Lycett, Co-opted Governor

Local Company Director. Former teacher and Chartered Surveyor.  Interested in the interface between education and business.  Member of the Strategic Board, Staffing and Salaries, Finance and Premises and Audit and Risk Committee

Mr Stephen Phillips, Member Appointed Governor

Past parent of the school. Has served as a Governor of West Hatch for over 25 years.  Retired as a director of a menswear company.  Chair of Redbridge and Havering Independent Custody Visitors Panel (part of The Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime).  Member of Admissions Committee and Finance & Premises and Audit and Risk Committees.

Mr Matt Lopez-Dias, Parent Governor

A former pupil from 1981 to 1987 and father of three. His youngest daughter and son are currently at the school. He is a Website Developer & Engineer and a Film & TV Grip.  Appointed as a Governor in February 2015 and is a member of the Strategic Board.

Ms Marcella Lord, Staff Governor (Teaching Staff)

Joined West Hatch has a music teacher in 2016, and is now Head of the Department. She is also a professional singer and previously ran a Soft Skills and IT Training Company.

Mrs Harpreet Kaur Kahlon, Staff Governor (Teaching Staff)

Joined West Hatch in 2013 as a cover teacher and is now part of the pastoral team, as Head of Seclusion. Her daughter attends the school. 

Mrs Leanne Smith, Staff Governor (Support Staff)

Joined West Hatch 2009 as Catering & Hospitality Manager in charge of all catering at West Hatch with a team of 12 staff. Has a professional background of Hotels/Restaurants for the past 30 years. Both her sons have attended West Hatch.

Mr Dan Leonard

Has been Headteacher since September 2017. Had been Associate Head for the past three years, having been on the Senior Leadership Team at the school since 2008.

Mr David Solomons, Co-opted Governor

Formerly a Parent Governor with one son through the school. A retired Deputy Headteacher of a secondary school in Redbridge.  Previously a primary school governor. Member of the Pupil Discipline Committee.

Mrs Stephanie Field, Member Appointed Governor

A former French teacher at the school for thirty years and was a Head of Year for seventeen years. She also assisted the MFL Department with Year 11 intervention.  She is our Safeguarding Link Governor and is a member of the Admissions Committee and Strategic Board.

Mr Kulvarn Atwal, Parent Governor

Has worked in education for 20 year and is currently Head Teacher at Highlands Primary School. Completed his Doctorate in Education in 2016 with a thesis that considered factors which impact on teacher engagement in professional learning activities in schools, with a particular focus on action research. Has three children at West hatch.

Mrs Julie Pearce, Member Appointed Governor

Born and bred in the area and has a daughter who has been at West Hatch since Year 7 and is now in sixth form.  Is the Clerk of a City Livery Company.  After 3 years as an active member of the Parent Voice, was appointed as a Parent Governor in January 2019 and has recently renewed her term for another 4 years as member appointed.

Mrs Rochelle De Friend, Member Governor

Joined as a Governor in November 2019 and serves on the Finance and Premises Committee. She has over 30 years experience in financial services, currently serving as a Chief Operating Officer for a Market Infrastructure firm in the City. Rochelle is also on the Board of Directors for Women in Listed Derivatives (WILD).

Mr Suhail Lodhi, Parent Governor

Joined as a Governor in January 2021. He has two sons in the school. He has 20 years experience in Corporate IT, and has recently moved into education as the IT Manager at a local Prep School.

Mrs Jeannine Lester, Member Governor

Joined the Governing Body in December 2021. Jeannine has been a Primary School Teacher for 20 years and is interested in links between the primary and secondary sectors in particular teaching, learning and curriculum. 

Mrs Janine Salmon, Member Governor

Joined the Governing Body in July 2023. Janine is an ex-pupil of the school and works part-time for a local charity. She is also a qualities research recruiter and forms focus groups for different brands.

Mr John Cowen, Member Governor

Joined the Governing Body in March 2024. He worked at West Hatch for 27 years and retired from the role of Assistant Headteacher in 2014. He now sits as a Magistrate Judge at the Family and Adult Courts.  


  • All Governors are appointed for a four year term of office.
  • Parents are notified of the election procedures when a vacancy arises for Parent Governors.
  • The Clerk to the Governors is appointed by the Governors.
  • Letters to the Chair and the Clerk can be sent via the School